Now I know my ABC’s

Another early morning BLOG entry, September is halfway through and school is officially in session, not only for us at home but for Monster who started half day pre k. What makes me even happier is that she comes home asking for mommy school. I planned out the first half of the school year, and extremely happy she wants to continue. Her teacher sent home a work sheet the first day of school that I had done with her that morning, and she also read them a story about school that I had planned on reading. Her calendar almost lines up perfectly with my lesson plans I had made. I think Banana is really starting to enjoy mommy tot school, she loves the sensory bins so far, and I have been brainstorming on all sorts of ideas for them.

We started last week with the letter A for Banana, the color red, circle for our shape, 1 for our number, and for Monster her sight word this week is were. Banana loves sensory bins so for our first week I made one with uncooked pasta shells and hid different colored letter A’s in the bin. We sorted each letter by color, and counted how many we had of each.

I started a fall countdown, and Monster and I played in our Apple Orchard pretend play today, and sorted colored apples. While Monster was in school Banana and I made an A is for Alligator craft, Monster and I had done a set of letter of the week crafts when she was two as well. I plan on saving Alanna’s too, and I am really hoping I get to do this with Little Man in the near future.

Week number 2 has gone smoothly, I haven’t gotten around to everything I wanted to do, it gets difficult with Banana’s ABA sessions, but we try to squeeze in what we can, don’t want to overwhelm her. This week I changed my mind last minute and we worked on B is for Body. I didn’t get to far into it being it was a last minute choice. We have so far read a few body books, and made a project where they glued pictures of eyes, nose, mouth, and ears on a face. I originally wanted to do B is for barn, so I had printed out barn printables with shapes on them so we could do a matching game. We also painted a letter B with a Q-tip. We wrapped up our day Wednesday with The Bee Movie, which I plan to do every Wednesday. I figure we could pick a movie that starts with the letter we are working on. It was a little over their head but banana was excited to see the Bee’s and ran around the room saying, Buzz.

The week is almost at a close, its Thursday and I have a sensory bin of beans the letter B and objects that begin with the letter B. I plan on adding some more time with our Apple Orchard pretend play. I plan on keeping it up until October where I will change it to a pumpkin farm. Our last two weeks of September will be mini themes of, C is for “Cowgirl” and D is for “Dinosaur”. I can’t wait to make mini pretend play bins for them to enjoy for both.

Also this months author of the month is Eric Carle, we made a Very Hungry Caterpillar craft.

I plan on writing another BLOG for the month of October for updates on what we are up to during my favorite month of the year. Halloween is my favorite holiday, and I cannot wait to get started.

meettheletterofweekletterasensoryfacesappletree

Leave a Reply

